top of page
  • Alex Bortell

to patroclus

for want of eyes, of skin, of teeth,

to sink my teeth into the flesh


of the peach, the apple

and its sweetness,

to rival the sour i seek

when picking honey-sweet

pomegranates from your leaves.


slipping tongue between teeth

and seed beneath tongue,

i searched for you in hades’ garden.

wondering where your sweet soul

wanders – past the river lethe?

how do i reach you if


thetis forgot to dip me.


20 views

Recent Posts

See All

White Sky

Right now is the sweet beginning It hasn’t come in yet It’s all descriptions of light, land, branches, I’m oblivious to posture, oblivious to I, oblivious as, one at a time, the lines drop in to chang

Untitled

From the start, they urged me to see, "To believe is to know. Perception is truth." But then they silenced my curiosity, "Hiding is wisdom. Rules mustn't be uncouth." As months passed, they waved red

two pieces

i have the overwhelming urge to move away, but the problem is that i don’t know where to, and i don’t know where from i can’t move by myself, that’s one of the few things in this life that i know for

bottom of page