top of page
  • Eleanor Wardlaw

White Sky

Right now is the sweet beginning

It hasn’t come in yet

It’s all descriptions of light, land,

branches, I’m oblivious to posture,

oblivious to I, oblivious as, one

at a time, the lines drop in

to change things. Loneliness doesn’t

scare me, it’s just stillness,

I need it like my spine, which is

connected to my hand, eventually,

which has to move, eventually

has to go somewhere.


Four hours where I listen to cars

pretend it’s the river

washes the chirps away if there are any

left. Forty-five minutes where

I sit with water up to my chest

and the sound washes from ear

to crown to somewhere even higher

and my hand moves only to scratch

and fumble. Drips on paper and

weakens it.


One day there will be a dark spot

in the distance, and we will all

have to squint before deciding

on its name. I bring my hand to

the right side of my throat, swallowing

the time I bargained for. I wish

I could say it better.

bottom of page