top of page
  • Molly Kouzes

two pieces

i have the overwhelming urge to move away, but the problem is that i don’t know where to, and i don’t know where from

i can’t move by myself, that’s one of the few things in this life that i know for sure, i’ve always had trouble being sure

i want to move to a made up city and bring the good parts of my life with me

the fourth dimension is lonely

the mechanisms of my world exist only in black and white

stagnancy or vivacity

drought or drowning

i am two souls, and they are friends, they are foes, they love each other to pieces, they want to rip each other to pieces

they fit together like puzzle pieces, but they build an ugly picture

i swing in every which way, on the spectrum of calmness and chaos i have with oiled wheels and a rocket strapped to my back,

propelling me every which way

sometimes there is a blip of time where i do not want to move away

there is a blip where i am not erupting my emotions volcanically

they don’t spew out of my mouth and eyes in an unstoppable flow

it is a blip where i am not fighting a vacuum

the two souls that fight for space in my body harmonize, and i finally get a taste of euphoric balance

balance does not have a place in my brain, i am unfamiliar with her

and i shoo her away when she knocks on my door but the second she leaves i am on my knees

begging her to engulf me

to eat me whole

i want balance so badly that i will

sacrifice my skin, sacrifice my eyes, all of my organs, my heart

take a bite from my arm, i promise that i don’t mind, i won’t stop you

i am not one person living two different lives i am not a million people living a million different lives

i am a million different people living one life i live the same schedule every week i can’t tell if this routine is my sanctuary or the blazing inferno that dries out my lungs and throat and asphyxiates me in the middle of the street because of the panic that there is no way out

i am vigilant over my sadness, i must be present else it becomes destruction, no end to justify the means

rip my eyes out of my skull and i won’t go blind

do with my body what you please as long as it’s you and me

strike me and i will find love in the fact that you used an open palm rather than a closed fist

my halves crave it

they crave safety

they will find it anywhere

they find it under the floorboards, into the dirt

they want to move away, to find new soil to bury themselves in, to find the comfort in the pressure

lay over them, make them whole

force roots out of me, shove them into the ground

keep me here, please.

bottom of page