top of page
  • Esteban Alarcon

Rotten Man At My Door

Rarely have I ever seen someone who looks truly rotten. They don’t seem to show up often. Even

the most miserable faces have some redeeming qualities. A tattooed cross on a forehead. A

smirk. The aging scars from a blow inflicted by an addict with an axe, or, hatchet, to be accurate.

These things add flair, a sparkle, though they rarely create networking opportunities. Glimpses

tend to be short and lips tight when that type of people walk through the bus or claim a corner

on a train car. A moose once climbed on a bus and was treated with more dignity. But, I have to

admit, this moose looked better than you.


When you showed up at my door with your red shirt I could see that you looked rotten. Your

head was nearly scraping the roof above you as you stood lanky, snot dripping out your nose. It

seemed like you had spawned out of some slimy pore that had long been forgotten and

untended, hidden in the scalp of some Argentinian psychoanalyst with a bright imagination and

a thick head of hair. You were projection. And trauma. You were a red shirt, eight feet tall and

skin was your face. I haven’t seen, for instance, many faces lacking orifices, that can easily be

considered, by our standards, as rotten.


It was said that once, in a lush grove, you had stuck your head in a hole you had dug six days

ago. The nearby villagers came to see it. A man with a holeless face had stuck his head in a hole

on the ground. Excited children ran in circles around your eight feet tall body that sprung out of

the ground like a palm tree. Flowers were thrown at your groin and slid sadly down on the

ground. When you came back up, your face brown with soot, screams rang out in all directions

as the villagers and their children witnessed a rotten face. This was 800 years ago, on the banks

of a river. I digress.


I saw your eyes covered by a smooth, oily skin, the color of mayonnaise that’s been left out on a

scorching sun, flickered with the debris of a carcass that has fallen from a tall cliff. It made my

skin crawl, and yours did. A weak web of cartilage covered your mouth and I could hear your

attempts to mouth out a call to arms or a hymn. You looked like a worm. But you could move.

Your arms grasped the walls. You loomed over me. You mouthed out your dinosaur salutes and

although I could not understand them, I heard your sounds. They filled the empty space in my

bedroom and bounced off the walls. And you slinked into my door, no more a physical space but

resembling water, you passed through it.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

White Sky

Right now is the sweet beginning It hasn’t come in yet It’s all descriptions of light, land, branches, I’m oblivious to posture, oblivious to I, oblivious as, one at a time, the lines drop in to chang

Untitled

From the start, they urged me to see, "To believe is to know. Perception is truth." But then they silenced my curiosity, "Hiding is wisdom. Rules mustn't be uncouth." As months passed, they waved red

two pieces

i have the overwhelming urge to move away, but the problem is that i don’t know where to, and i don’t know where from i can’t move by myself, that’s one of the few things in this life that i know for

bottom of page