top of page
  • Ava Marie Hockey

God's Country

I am not anywhere,

Somewhere in the south.

Somewhere in the south,

You said I’d be a good mother.

That,

And another, still.

Holy,

Pouring from your mouth.

Holding me,

In the red of my room.


God,

I want to fuck him.

God,

I want to destroy him.

Exclamation point.

Thank you.

Thank you.

Thank you.


This is my country of pain.

This is God’s Country.

I am just a woman.

I always have been.

Some things are always there,

In God’s Country.


I give in a little too easily.

He picked me up

And slammed my head into the mattress.

It would have been the wall

If that’s where the wall had been.


On Orthodox Easter I get up at six to cook.

I pretend he’s coming to eat.

YiaYia doesn’t cook anymore

It’s up to me.


But I am not anywhere.

Somewhere,

In God’s Country.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

White Sky

Right now is the sweet beginning It hasn’t come in yet It’s all descriptions of light, land, branches, I’m oblivious to posture,...

Untitled

From the start, they urged me to see, "To believe is to know. Perception is truth." But then they silenced my curiosity, "Hiding is...

two pieces

i have the overwhelming urge to move away, but the problem is that i don’t know where to, and i don’t know where from i can’t move by...

コメント


bottom of page