top of page
  • Fiona Duffy

Anathema

Now that the light is fad i n g

the south stares from across the earth.

The north has already been d r a w n of its color.

As I go further d

o

w

n,

so does the sun.

Dark digeststhesky slowly though the glowing,


red eyes have begun their vigilant


heaving


breaths.

His tongue s

lits through my focus.


I have wandered into his domain to relieve myself of his shadowy conceit.


He asks me to concede my arcane revelations.


Words meander around who are and core.

Let go.


I tell him if he knows then there is no need to ask; won’t let him coax me to

the garden.

(they warned of his silvery delusions.

should’ve known better than to entertain

the nefarious.)


He brands a smile

Glazes talk of who and why and a spider and a fly

Shoulder off fragility; tongue suspended.

(you never gave me a reason to believe.

that’s why i pity you. you pilfer wool to

sew into your sight. smear fool’s gold against

your speech. all for an edged ego. so desperate to

hold a bit of humanity. you’re not privy to that.

you must prey in order to procure some company.

i’ve danced in your babled arithmetic far too long.

my soles will no longer engage in your invective gambol.)


I never emitted those lyrics. It wasn’t necessary.

He caught them inside and they circled in pride.

Marked his exterior with a slight grimace.

A commencement of deliverance.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

White Sky

Right now is the sweet beginning It hasn’t come in yet It’s all descriptions of light, land, branches, I’m oblivious to posture, oblivious to I, oblivious as, one at a time, the lines drop in to chang

Untitled

From the start, they urged me to see, "To believe is to know. Perception is truth." But then they silenced my curiosity, "Hiding is wisdom. Rules mustn't be uncouth." As months passed, they waved red

two pieces

i have the overwhelming urge to move away, but the problem is that i don’t know where to, and i don’t know where from i can’t move by myself, that’s one of the few things in this life that i know for

bottom of page