top of page
  • Kristen Lee

⋆。°✩ Stars ⋆。°✩

Dark cumulus clouds were scattered across the night sky. I could hardly see the twinkling stars, though I was sure they were peeking through here and there. After all, what else would be there?

The clouds were getting thicker with each passing moment. Perhaps a storm was coming. I couldn’t tell. The cold of winter enveloped my nostrils making each breath harder than the other. The sky continued to darken as the light grew even brighter.

Where am I again? Ah yes, the star. It was so close I could feel the heat radiating from it. I could hear the screams of joy as we all marveled at this spectacle of a lifetime in front of me. Was it a comet? Maybe a supernova?


I foolishly stared in awe.


I heard my name being called, but I was too tired to respond. I smiled at the star instead, how vibrant it was. It was a mesmerizing sight that captured my attention. I never even felt when he pulled me out of the hole I had slipped into. I hadn’t even known I fell into a hole. All I felt was the brisk air grating against me and pulling me out of my trance. He glanced at me concerned. When I continued to stare at the night sky, he sighed.

“Why are you so sad? Don’t you like the star too?” I pondered.

“Alice, please stay with me.” Where else would I go? My eyes felt heavy all of a sudden, but yet, I couldn’t close them. All I could do was gaze at the night sky and the star that had formed.

“What’s wrong?” my voice sputtered out as a mere whisper.

“The fire… I’m so sorry.” He started. I smiled at him, but he did not return my expression.

“Are you not happy to see me?” He paused at this.

“I’m sorry.” He stated once again.

“What for? You’re finally watching the stars with me. Even on a cloudy day like today. I never thought it would be possible for this to happen.” His eyes welled with tears.

“I am so sorry, Alice we-” I raised my hand to stop him.

“There, there. Let’s just take in the moment. It’s like a, uh- supernova. The comet is finally blessing us since we achieved peace.” He was speechless. A few beats of silence passed. Shakingly, he inhaled.

“Alice, we didn’t win.” My head tilted as a stream of tears cascaded down his face.

“Alice please… please come to your senses.” Confused, I stared at him a moment longer.

“It’s not a star. It’s- there was- I tried. I’m so sorry. I tried to, should’ve-” His sobs got louder upon seeing my blank stare.

“What happened?” He fell to his knees.

“What happened?” my voice began to shake.


A wave of stillness swallowed me. My fingers suddenly felt numb and his sobs were drowned out by the crackling sound of the flames that tore through my hometown. How had I not recognized it before? The screams of joy I had previously heard suddenly morphed into screams of fear, screams of terror and anguish. The gentle mutters of “I’m sorry,” echoed in my mind.


The sky became even darker and the flame continued to burn even brighter, destroying the twinkling stars of the night sky.

bottom of page