top of page
  • Teddie Bernard

Private Goodbye




Image Description:


Page One: In the first sequence of panels, Theo is standing in a comic book store, holding a comic. The song "Bloodbuzz Ohio" by the Nationals is playing. The lyrics, "I still owe money, to the money, to the money I owe. I never thought about love when I thought about home" are written above his head. Theo thinks to himself, "Oh. It's that song you gave me."


The second sequence of panels shows Theo submerged in water up to his shoulders. The water crashes around him with large waves at first, leaving him soaked. t's unclear if his face is wet from the ocean or from crying. Above this reads, "You were like an ocean, brimming with generosity."


In the next sequence, Theo is tying his heart with duct tape. At first he gets the tape tightly around his heart, with some frustration, but feels pleased when the tape holds his anger back. However, in the last moment, his heart catches on fire and sets the tape on fire too. Above reads: "But you hurt me, and that anger hasn't receded."


Page Two: The first sequence on page two shows nine images, with a small thought written above each image. The images include a manuscript, a paper tray of Popeyes shrimp, a glass bottle of Coca Cola, a record player spinning a vinyl, two movie tickets to the Gene Siskel, a FunkoPop still in the box, a DVD Star Wars movie, two dumplings shaped like pigs, and a pair of gamer headphones. The text above the objects reads: "I don't think I can forgive you. I don't think you would ask me to. I don't think either of us can admit why and where we hurt each other. Still, when I heard that song I was flooded by your kindness. I miss that. I miss you. I hope that part of you I loved lives on... even if I don't know them anymore."


The second and final sequence on page two returns to Theo in the comic book shop. He looks away, like something off the page has caught his attention. Then, the comic book shop is empty and Theo is gone. The text above reads, "I wonder if you miss me... too."

bottom of page