top of page
  • Anyse Doss

nerves as black lines

after Julie Mehretu, “A Love Supreme”


dancing directionless doodles

dirty the sidewalk of

my chalky childhood masterpieces

hazy hues of pastel

no never any match against the rain


my mind a wasteland of

faces that did not stay

a ribcage that

isn’t mine

nerves replacing memories like

loose strands of hair

a nightmare unwilling to

open my eyes


glass sweating the

perfect opportunity

my index cuts through

a path from beginning to end

my sky cries with me

obscuring visuals of

sense
























my reflection a

burning city

stenciled erasers of loss

nerves as black lines


nerves anyway

nothing left to lose


my mind a wasteland

wasting supreme

love does not live here

hair around its neck

suffocation suppresses words

that

aren’t mine


my mind a wasteland

nerves as black lines

stenciled erasers of loss

a nightmare unwilling

a sky that cries with me

nerves as black lines


nerves as black lines






how did I get here


Recent Posts

See All

The End of Her Golden Age

The moon was too big the night Mei got the letter. She unlocked her mailbox and pulled out a stack of coupons, letters, notices. She paged through the pile, reimagining her day, until her eyes landed

Snowbird/Sunbird

I was born during the time of year where all the love and warmth from Christmas fades away into winter. Where the light of the sun nearly always meets impenetrable clouds, and when it can pierce throu

bottom of page