top of page
  • Yun-Shen Li

My Dear Oneirologist

They met at a formal occasion in fall. It was half a week ago. On their way back to the city, they introduced themselves through those “I’m from this school and I’m a something major” questions. That was the first time Betts heard of the term, electroencephalography.


Later that night, they were at the bar downtown that serves the best crispy Brussels sprout salad. Betts had a strong desire to know more about this person, Rei.


“You said you also like cars, especially the ones with windshield tint,” Betts yelled across the table, “That’s so interesting because I know some people from my school love cars and none of them like tints. I guess it’s not for everyone.”


“Well, tints are cool. I like to observe the light and colors changing around,” Rei replied.


“So, what’s oneirology? You rewind and interpret dreams?” Betts yelled again.


“I study the process of dreams, try to find patterns for different possible dreams, and ultimately, predict patterns,” Rei raised her voice, “You know the difference between astronomy and astrology, right?”


“Well, I like to look up into the sky from dusk ‘till dawn occasionally, when I’m doing my coding thing,” Betts replied.


Rei’s partner called. She went out to talk. Betts ordered a shot of Jäger. And another one.


“I thought you said you were single or something,” Betts shouted. The bar was getting crowded. Another woman bought them another shot.


“You asked if I have a boyfriend and I said I don’t,” Rei yelled, “Why are you reacting like that though? I thought you said you have a boyfriend already.”


“I mean, I have a boyfriend in my dreams lately. There’s this one guy I met at a live bar in August. His name’s Alex or Albert or something. He’s from another state and he studies sculpture, like, he goes to an art school, you know? He appeared in my dreams so many times I thought we were dating. It’s just,” Betts took a huge gulp, “so funny!”


“That’s good for you,” Rei tilted her head a little bit, “I guess?”


“It’s just, well, why don’t you tell me if it’s going to be good or not? I don’t know much about oneirologists, but I heard they avoid relationships with their dream partners,” Betts murmured through her pint glass, “How did you manage to study your dream self and dream plot though, my dear oneirologist?”

18 views
bottom of page