top of page
  • Line Kuzniar

Multiflora Rose

The First Visit:

Bare-handed and bare-armed, the thorns tore at my skin as I tried to negotiate an uprooting. The shrub was not prepared to part from its bed and I was not prepared to sever the connection, though I pulled for a sweat-soaked minute.

I had watched the buds swell into white blotches in my field, softening the brambles. Multiflora roses are noxious weeds. Invasive, they were never meant to grow so well. They’ll kill a hill in a few years. It was time for it to go, before other clusters of brambles began to sprout.

Strings of blood grew in the shape of a stop sign and itched.



The Second Visit:

I borrowed leather gloves from the garage and returned with scabs and long sleeves.

“Hello, I am sorry. It is nothing personal, but it’s time to go,” I warned, hoping it would get the idea and go easy. But, the roots held the earth tighter than I could grasp the base of the bush. The knotted stems had grown broader than my fist and my fingers slipped.

“I’ll be back tomorrow,” I told the plant.



The Third Visit:

Chopping.

I snipped every leaf, every flower, every stem and watched them fall to the ground. Once nothing but raw wood remained, I returned the pruning shears to the garage. That night, I dreamt all of my houseplants withered away, like when I was a kid and couldn’t imagine nurturing life from a dry little seed.



The Fourth Visit:

The following spring I visited the stump with a stone to mark the spot of a struggle. But fresh brambles greeted me. I dropped the rock where I stood.



The Fifth Visit:

Armed with a shovel, it wasn’t meant to be a massacre. Leaves and petals flew as I split the dirt with the blade, hacking more than digging. I rinsed the dust from my hands and face, but was unable to meet my reflected eyes.



The Sixth Visit:

How many times will a multiflora rose send out new shoots, last year’s growth being destroyed? How can I take that unwavering hope, determination for survival, for myself? I returned by moonlight and asked the bush. And how many conversations before acquaintances become friends?



The Final Visit :

Well, it becomes too much. I achieved a surgical precision in the whole removal of the expansive root system. I burned the bush after it dried in the dust for a few days. I said my goodbyes. The bush did not return the next year. My field once again was empty.

2 views

Recent Posts

See All

The End of Her Golden Age

The moon was too big the night Mei got the letter. She unlocked her mailbox and pulled out a stack of coupons, letters, notices. She...

Snowbird/Sunbird

I was born during the time of year where all the love and warmth from Christmas fades away into winter. Where the light of the sun nearly...

Comments


bottom of page