top of page
  • Evan Efron

d/dx (k)=0

When finding the derivative,

one is attempting to measure the sensitivity to change

that a given function has

as the independent variable

is manipulated.


Throughout the corridors, there is a low buzzing, a deep hum, emitted uniquely in the darkness of artificial night. Consistently at 2100, the light-emitting diodes transition into a dimmer output level in an ill-fated attempt to recreate Earth’s day to night cycle, in pursuit of giving the crew a sense of familiarity in a place where time must be manufactured. The only thing it succeeds in, I hypothesize, is inhibiting the required amount of rest in members of the crew with hearing attuned towards a wider array of frequencies. It is now 0300, and sleep has proven unattainable.


INQUIRY:

How does one measure change upon a starship?


ANALYSIS:

Unknown. Research forthcoming.


It is statistically rare that a single individual can become a worthy competitor against me in chess. This statement is not meant as a boast, as many humans are apt to exaggerate with, but as a logical fact and a verified truth. I find myself staring at the chess set placed on the table of my room, paused in the midst of a truly fascinating game that I predict I am only 54.012% likely to be victorious in. The reverberation of the hour is clear and ringing, likely why I am standing contemplating possible chess moves instead of obtaining sleep before alpha shift. The knight should be moved, for optimal defense. However, the moves my opponent could follow this with are infinite, due to his complete and utter illogical mastery of the unexpected. In other words, his pure, concentrated humanity. I find my lips twitching upwards, and I move the knight.


INQUIRY:

How does one measure change upon a starship?


ANALYSIS:

Unknown. Research inconclusive.


It would be remiss to state that the incessant humming of the starship’s artificial night is comforting. It is a noise that has proved to be disconcerting enough to cause me to create mental shields against its presence on a regular basis. However, there are a multitude of times advanced hearing is greatly advantageous, aside from the obvious applications on duty. Current examples: the slow beating of a human heart, the steady breathing of contented sleep against my side, the warm white noise of love echoing throughout my entire being. Parted from me and never parted, never and always touching and touched. T’hy’la, the electric drone is inconsequential, and the peace you bring lulls me to sleep.

INQUIRY:

How does one measure change upon a starship?


ANALYSIS:

Unknown. Research inconclusive.

DATA EDITED:

The same way one measures change everywhere:

through the passage of time

artificial or otherwise,

through friends lost

and friends made,

through scars,

through new smile lines

or the lack thereof.

Project ongoing.

Research forthcoming,

until the end of these five years

and every year ensuing.

12 views

Recent Posts

See All

The End of Her Golden Age

The moon was too big the night Mei got the letter. She unlocked her mailbox and pulled out a stack of coupons, letters, notices. She...

Snowbird/Sunbird

I was born during the time of year where all the love and warmth from Christmas fades away into winter. Where the light of the sun nearly...

Comentarios


bottom of page