top of page
  • Els Deitz

a salt shaker for so many past unkings

It is that I should learn so much of a soul backwards,

snow rising off the mountain trembling air sprung and singing, singing,

shoulders unshrugged before sitting, before eating,

unspilling salt into wounds.


doing a disappearing act,

which the undoing of does the acting and the doing at once,

doing the undoing the doing undoing does.

undrunk on a thursday morning, this morning, throeing morning,

I watch the sky split itself horizontally like it is unspeaking—

unlike you, I am still so unfamiliar with my own nature.


undrawn curtains revealing the seat filled unlookers,

each eye unbabbling breathless broken bough wow body

and yes, this is a lamb’s body, unsheared between my hip bones, holding steady still

unsure

we need a cliff on stage left.


Christmas gets even with me like Mary, no, the other Mary, a third Mary,

unbiblical chords flung down

like ribbon, like stones,

making a chalice of my little skull.


Eve gets even with me and I start spooning the blood back in

Because it’s mine it’s mine.


16 views
bottom of page